Tags

, ,

The following piece was inspired by an acting exercise in Andrew Grenier’s adult conservatory class:

It was Christmas, and I had bought three stockings: one for me, one for him, and one for the dog. And I was filling them myself. I asked him if he was willing to fill my stocking, and he said the idea of stockings was silly and he probably wouldn’t have the time. It’s a Christmas stocking. You shouldn’t have to fill your own. And I stood there, stuffing the stockings, thinking “This isn’t right,” but, ultimately persevering, because could fill both stockings, just like could fill both parts of the relationship. You can only last so long with that mentality. Anyway, he’s gone, he left. And I am still trying to convince myself that I deserve someone who will stuff my stocking, every Christmas. Until its overflowing. Without being asked.

