Tags

,

 

I first saw Marylin Monroe in the movie Some Like It Hot.  When I was bored, I would go over to my neighbor’s house.  She was a Mary Kay lady in her 50s who knitted a lot and also watched old movie musicals.  I was enthralled.  I fell in love with Gene Kelly, Fred and Ginger, and, Marilyn.

I remember reading Blonde by Joyce Carol Oates during my college years.  The novel is a fictionalized biography.  It is both dark and comic.

This past year, I watched the television series SMASH (created by Hedgebrook alumna Theresa Rebeck).  I will remain forever enthralled with Marilyn as an icon.  She holds a place in my pantheon of sheros: Gilda Radner, Lucille Ball, Mae West, Nora Ephron, Julie Taymor, Kristen Wiig, Amy Phoeler and Tina Fey (among others).

This post is short and sweet.  Just a little nod, a remembrance, for an eternally beautiful entertainer.  I will close with one of my favorite Marilyn quotations:

“I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”

 

