Tags

, , , ,

What do you mean when
you say you love me
right now?
I’m not used to this not
knowing where I stand
dancing all along a precipice.

Feeling needy want to hear you
touch you taste you have you.
Feel you open and
close to me.
The certain uncertainty
of what we are
moving daily.

I hold back fear of seeming
being obsessive
hold back mouth
would you turn
away?

Wondering if in my heart of hearts
I am merely Mistress
fit for sex alone
in heart of hearts
I am the Princess,
royally wed, waiting
for my queendom.
Alas, Huzzah, I am spiralling in-between
heart of hearts of hearts.
Take my hand maybe
we’ll pull through,
and we’ll know where we
stand.

This poem was originally published by Crow’s Eye Press in Ms. Sams’ book Sore: fantasies and inhibitions.

Robin A. Sams is a writer living on Vancouver Island, B.C. in Canada. She has a B.A. in English with a concentration in creative writing and in Classical Philology from Hollins University. Her work has appeared in a variety of publications, including text lit mag, Island Writer magazine and the anthology Words of Fire and Ice. In 2014, she published her first full-length poetry book Sore: fantasies and inhibitions. To read more of her work, visit her blog at http://robinasams.wordpress.com.

Favorite poets: “My favourite poets are Sylvia Plath, Anne Sexton, Frank O’Hara, and Leigh Phillips. Leigh Phillips is a young woman with whom I went to university and who inspired my poetry chapbook Bea and other poems.”

 

